MeekoDev's Insane World

Life in the slow lane

Catching up

leave a comment »

Sitting here watching Tory aka “Magoo” when she spoke at local library here a few years ago.  She always impresses me with her ability to teach the uninitiated as well as give a good refresher course to those of us who have been educated in the Church of $cientology. If you listen to the entire speech you will learn a lot about her history and the inner workings as she experienced them.  She is a good speaker, and regardless of your views she is interesting.

For a couple  weeks my computer has been stuck on YouTube and the International Movie Data Base where it can play documentaries and films.  This way with my book in front of me as well I can catch a few pages when the movie gets slow.

The last few days my movie choices have been a bit odder.  I finally saw the film The Last Airbender.  That was a complete waste of time.  After saying that it wasn’t worth my time, I changed my mind.  That was a very dumb mistake.  This film made The Happening look like a three star film.  Yes, it was that bad.  All I will say is don’t bother to see it. Perhaps sometime down the road I will post a detailed post showing all the research I did to determine if I was in the minority.

To get it out of my mind I’ve been viewing a few quality movies.  First up was Alan Parker’s Mississippi Burning.  This film is always worth a couple hours. Gene Hackman was excellent in this performance. In fact, the Academy gave him an Oscar Nom for it. Also starring Willem DaFoe and Brad Dourif, Burning is a must see every few years.

Next on my recently viewed list was Cocaine Cowboys I and II.  The first in the series was very well made.  The director’s kept a quick pace, using the interviews and editing to their advantage. The well rounded soundtrack helped keep the pace. The second film was a bit slower.  Maybe 3 of 5 stars for this sequel.

That’s it until next time, the eyes are falling down.

Written by MeekoDev

August 18, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Posted in movies

Leave a comment